Nigeria restricts movements in States

1 minute, 24 seconds Read



Saturday’s gubernatorial and state house of assembly elections are around the corner. Subsequently, the Inspector-General of Police, Usman Baba, on Thursday ordered restricted movements. He restricted all kinds of vehicular movements and all forms of transportation.

Further, from 12 a.m. to 6 p.m. on election day, no movement is expected in states where elections are being conducted.


Public Relations Officer and Chief Superintendent of Police (CSP), Olumuyiwa Adejobi, released a statement on behalf of the force. The statement affirms that only those on emergency duties, including ambulances, medics, and firefighters, are to be exempted. Also, INEC officials and media personnel were allowed to move.


However, the Federal Capital Territory has been exempted because elections are not held there. Furthermore, the statement includes a ban on providing security aides to VIPs. The security aides are not to accompany politicians to polling booths or collation centers. Likewise, state and privately owned security organizations are barred from handling election security management.


The Inspector General of Police tells Nigerians to be law-abiding during and after the elections. He assured the citizens that security measures have been taken to ensure they exercise their civic responsibilities undisturbed.


Lastly, the general public is encouraged to contact Nigeria Police Force Headquarters via 08033440189 (DIG Operations), 08033027731 (AIG FEDOPS), and 08034040439 (CP Elections). Also, there is the “NPF Rescue Me App” on Android and iOS, and the NPF Rescue Me Emergency Toll-free line on 08031230631. These were put in place to request an emergency security response.

Election situation room numbers will be shared on the Nigeria Police social media platforms for emergency contact.


Recommended Read

INEC discloses how results will be transmitted during gubernatorial election

• Algae; The Perfect Alternative

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: